Intellectual Property Coordinators

Intellectual property coordinators are appointed by the president of their respective college or university. Faculty and staff may seek advice from the intellectual property coordinators on a range of intellectual property issues including:

  • whether a work may be reproduced;
  • how to obtain permission to use a work;
  • if music or videos may be used in the face-to-face or online classroom; and
  • the application of copyright law including fair use and the TEACH Act.

For matters that are beyond the scope of an intellectual property coordinator’s knowledge, the System Director for Policy, Procedure and Intellectual Property should be contacted for assistance. 

The intellectual property coordinators shall assist faculty and staff maintain copies of permission authorizations received from copyright owners. The coordinators shall also serve as agents under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and immediately advise their president of receipt of a notice of copyright infringement.  These notices should be forwarded immediately to Sarah McGee in the Office of General Counsel or the attorney in the Attorney General’s Office assigned to that college or university.

Intellectual Property Coordinators Listed by Campus

System Office
30 7th Street E, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55101-7804

Gary Hunter
System Director for Intellectual Property
(651) 201-1659

Sarah McGee
Assistant General Counsel
(651) 201-1410

Alexandria Technical and Community College
1601 Jefferson St.
Alexandra, MN 56308
Jan Doebbert
Exec. Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs
(320) 762-4504

Anoka Technical College
1355 West Hwy 10
Anoka, MN 55303
John Cacich
Vice President of Academic & Student Affairs
(763) 576-4707

Anoka-Ramsey Community College
11200 Mississippi Blvd. NW
Coon Rapids, MN 55433
Arun Goyal
Dean of Educational Services
(763) 433-1639

Bemidji State University
1500 Birchmont Dr. NE, Deputy 335, #4
Bemidji, MN 56601-2699
Bob Griggs
Interim Assoc. Vice President for Info. Tech. and Extended Learning
(218) 755-2068

Central Lakes College
501 West College Dr.
Brainerd, MN 56401
Michael Amick
Dean of Academic & Technology Services
(218) 855-8178

Century College
3300 Century Ave. N.
White Bear Lake, MN 55110
Ron Anderson
(651) 779-3493

Dakota County Technical College
1300 145 St. E.
Rosemount, MN 55068-2999
Kelly Murtaugh
Dean of General Ed & Academic Support Services
(651) 423-8231

Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College
2101 14th St.
Cloquet, MN 55720
Larry Anderson
(218) 879-0842

Hennepin Technical College
9000 Brooklyn Blvd.
Brooklyn Park, MN 55445
Zala Fashant
Dean of General Education
(763) 488-2549

Hibbing Community College
1515 East 25th St.
Hibbing, MN 55746
Jan Carey
(218) 262-6747

Inver Hills Community College
2500 80th St. E
Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076-3224
Joan Kuzma Costello
Vice President for Academic Affairs & Student Development
(651) 450-8618

Itasca Community College
1851 E. Highway 169
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Barbara McDonald;
Dean of Academic Affairs
(218) 327-4204

Itasca Community College
1851 E. Highway 169
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Steve Bean
ICC Librarian
(218) 327-4147

Lake Superior College
2101 Trinity Rd.
Duluth, MN 55811
Mark Magnuson
Vice President of Academic & Student Affairs
(218) 733-7628

Mesabi Range Community & Technical College
1001 Chestnut Street West
Virginia, MN 55792
Laurie Tekautz
Faculty position, Librarian
(218) 749-7778

Metropolitan State University
700 E. 7th St.
St. Paul, MN 55106-5000
Chris Schafer
Dean of Libraries and Information Services
(651) 793-1618

Minneapolis Community & Technical College
1501 Hennepin Avenue, Blvd. C336
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Dianna Cusick
Director of Legal Affairs
(612) 659-6319

Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical
1250 Homer Road, PO Box 409
Winona, MN 55987
Jessica Stumpf
Vice President for Academic Affairs
(507) 453-2676

Minnesota State Community & Technical College (Fergus Falls)
1414 College Way
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
Perry Werner
(218) 299-6531

Minnesota State Community & Technical College (Moorhead)
1900 28th Av. S.
Moorhead, MN 56560
Perry Werner
(218) 299-6531

Minnesota State University, Mankato
115 Alumni & Foundation Center,
Mankato, MN 56001Barry Ries
Associate Vice President for Research/Dean of the College of Graduate Studies
(507) 389-1242

Minnesota State University Moorhead
1104 7th Ave. S.
Moorhead, MN 56563
Brittney Goodman
Dean and Associate Vice President
(218) 477-2923

Minnesota West Community and Technical College
Canby, Granite Falls, Jackson, and Pipestone Campuses
1011 1st St. W.
Canby, MN 56220
Kip Thorson
Collegewide and Distance Library Services
Collegewide Tutoring Coordinator
(507) 372-3460

Normandale Community College
9700 France Ave.
Bloomington, MN 55431
Julie Guelich
Vice President of Academic Affairs
(952) 487-8156

North Hennepin Community College
7411 85th Ave. N.
Brooklyn Park, MN 55445
Craig Larson
(763) 424-0733

Northland Community and Technical College
1101 Highway One East
Thief River Falls, MN 56701
Cynthia Jorstad
Library Director: Thief River Falls and East Grand Forks Campus
(218) 681-0757

Northwest Technical College
905 Grant Avenue SE
Bemidji, MN 56601
Bruce Hemstad
Dean of Academic and Co-Curricular Affairs
(218) 333-6613

Pine Technical College
900 4th St. SE
Pine City, MN 55063
Mindy Hicks
(320) 629-5169

Rainy River Community College
1501 Highway 71
International Falls, MN 56649
Tammy Cook
Academic Services Director
(218) 285-2265

Ridgewater College
2101 15th Ave. NW
Willmar, MN 56201
Betty J. Strehlow
Vice President of Academic Affairs and Student Services
(320) 222-5203

Riverland Community College
1900 8th Ave. NW
Austin, MN 55912
J.C. Turner
Director of Instructional Technology and Intellectual Property
(507) 434-7384

Rochester Community and Technical College
851 30th Ave. SE
Rochester, MN 55904-4999
Dale Pedersen
Director of Library
(507) 285-7229

St. Cloud State University
720 Fourth Ave. S.
St. Cloud, MN 56301-3143
Judith Penrod Siminoe
Special Advisor to the President
(320) 308-2122

St. Cloud Technical & Community College
1540 Northway Dr.
St. Cloud, MN 56303
Patricia Akerman
(320) 308-5966

Saint Paul College
235 Marshall Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55102
Ben Tri
(651) 846-1489

South Central College
1920 Lee Blvd.
North Mankato, MN 56033
Mark J. Baas
Dean of Technology
(507) 332-5876

Southwest Minnesota State University
1501 State St.
Marshall, MN 56258
Beth Weatherby
Provost, Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
(507) 537-6246

Vermilion Community College
1900 East Camp St.
Ely, MN 55731
Mary Koski
(218) 365-7235

Winona State University
Somsen Hall 202B
Winona State University
Winona, MN 55987
Thomas Bremer
Dean, Library &Information Services
(507) 457-5141

Please submit revisions or corrections to Gary Hunter.
Phone: (651) 201-1659
Updated November 2012